PARADISE TOWNSHIP PLANNING COMMISSION MEETING MINUTES

January 27, 2020

The regularly scheduled meeting of the Paradise Township Planning Commission was held January 27, 2020 at the Paradise Township Municipal Building.

1. Call to Order and Pledge to the Flag

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Kevin Barnes at 7:00PM.

2. Attendance:

Kevin Barnes

Bob Nivens

Tom Bosley

Brent Auchey

Barry Schuchart

Mike Zeigler

Township Engineer Doug Stambaugh P.L.S.

Zoning Officer Neal Doyle

There were six (6) others present.

3. Approval of the Meeting Minutes of December 16,2019:

A motion to approve the Minutes was made by Tom Bosley and seconded by Mike Zeigler. The motion passed unanimously.

4. Citizen's Concerns or Comments:

a. There were none.

5. Communications:

- a. Kevin Barnes presented the notes from the Supervisors meeting of January 13, 2020.
- b. Miscellaneous: There were none.
- c. Zoning Officer: There were none.

6. Sketch Plans:

a. There were none.

7. Old Business:

a. Tall Grass Meadows, Phase 2 (Plan Expires: April 14, 2020)-Bob Nivens motioned to postpone discussion on the plan, seconded by Brent Auchey. The motion passed.

8. New Business:

a. Country Club Heights Waiver Request for Sidewalks-

Mickey Thompson and Kyle Gillespie were present to discuss a Waiver Request to eliminate the requirement for approximately 400 ft. of sidewalk on the County Club Heights development. The sidewalk on the west side of the development was not encompassing a household but surrounded the storm water management holding pond. There is a sidewalk on the opposite side of the street and

other sidewalks throughout the development. They proposed adding ADA ramps in two new locations near the area to allow for safe egress of pedestrians with disabilities. After further discussion, Bob Nivens motioned, seconded by Tom Bosley to forward the <u>APPROVAL</u> to the Supervisors for their consideration. The motion passed 4-1, with Chairman Kevin Barnes in opposition.

b. Solar Ordinance-

Bob Nivens recommended that this proposed revision to the ordinance be taken by one of the PTPC members, reviewed, marked up and returned at the next PTPC meeting for discussion. Mike Zeigler volunteered to look into this revision of the PT ordinance. All PTPC members are advised to review the ordinance.

c. PTPC Checklists-

A new set of checklists for PT are being proposed. A copy of Jackson Townships checklists were presented along with PT's checklists prepared by Barry Schuchart. It is thought that by preparing these new lists and staging them on the PT Website that we could avoid lost time with developers and property owners at the PTPC and Supervisors meetings. The developers and owners would fill them in and bring them to the various meetings with the Township. These checklists would be presented and used at the meetings to assist in channeling our discussions. Kevin Barnes proposed that he take on the challenge and when finished, forward them to Bob Nivens for further review. d. Superior Homes Buffer Relocation-

Clark Craumer presented a revised Superior Homes plan to move the buffer, or tree line, on the southwest most portion of the lot approximately 50' north. This new buffer would allow the neighboring property owner the ability to farm the area south of the tree line. As our ordinance only states that it has to be a minimum of 30', Clark was advised to amend the plan to show this new buffer line and to RECORD the plan.. Kevin Barnes motioned, seconded by Tom Bosley to recommend <u>APPROVAL</u> to the Supervisors of this new plan.

9. Adjournment:

Having no further business, a motion was made by Bob Nivens to adjourn the meeting, seconded by Brent Auchey. The meeting was adjourned at 7:32 PM.

The next regularly scheduled meeting of the Paradise Township Planning Commission shall be held on January 27, 2020 at 7:00 PM in the Township Municipal Building.

Respectively submitted,

PARADISE TOWNSHIP PLANNING COMMISSION

Bob Nivens

Robert Nivens

Vice Chairman/Secretary

Cc: Paradise Township Planning Commission: TB, BS, MZ, KB, BA

Clark Craumer, Supervisor Neal Doyle, Zoning Officer

Lance Biesecker, Supervisor CGA, Sharon Myers Esq., Solicitor

Dean Bentzel, Supervisor GHI, Doug Stambaugh, P.L.S., Township Engineer

Chris Mentzer, Township Secretary Wayne Smith, Zoning Officer

Amy Perry, Abbottstown-Paradise Joint Sewer Authority